14 fruits of labour

IMG_0355

Sometime last summer I picked a dwarf citrus plant from Home Depot. Laziness struck and I left it in the pot it came in. At the beginning of winter I remembered that the plant cannot be left outside. With no greater expectation than to keep it alive until next summer I put it on my kitchen counter next to the windows.
To my surprise the plant burst into flowers about a week after moving it in. After wondering what next and some Google-searches later I ended up playing the bee… Every morning I would check if a new flower has bloomed and with a paint brush help the pollen reach the stigma.
Now I have a tree with a bunch of tiny fruits… I am very skeptical about how much they will grow to. But it has been a fun experiment so far.

This entry was published on January 14, 2015 at 23:18. It’s filed under Random and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

